How to start reading Discworld?

If you have ever met a fantasy fiction fan in your life, you have probably heard a lot about Terry Pratchett’s Discworld. The Discworld is a fascinating creation of Pratchett’s- a world that is flat and carried by four elephants who rest on top of a giant tortoise A’Tuin. It’s fantasy and satire at it’s best and it is riotously funny.

Terry Pratchett's Discworld Novels

There are a lot of Discworld novels, though. For the uninitiated, it might be really difficult to figure out where they should start from. Many of the books are standalone books, but some of them are a part of a series, with recurring characters are references to events that happened in a previous book.

It would be possible for one to divide the Discworld novels into the four main plotlines– Rincwind, Death, The Witches and the Watch. You can pick up one book that falls in each category, so that you find out which story line you like the best. Once you have figured that out, you can follow all the novels in that particular category. Death, for instance, is introduced in Mort, and is present in about 8 or 9 other Discworld novels that you can read if you are fond of the character.

It will be slightly more complicated than you expect it to be, but Discworld is a riot and you will not regret reading any single book of the series!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s